Perfluo­ro­carbon Liquids

Perfluo­ro­carbon liquids (PFCLs) are organic compounds in which all H-atoms are replaced by F-atoms. Due to the F-atoms’ electronic structure and arran­gement, an almost-complete shield of the molecules is achieved. The compounds are chemi­cally inert. With their low surface tension, low conduc­tivity and high density, their highly solvent properties for gases (oxygen and carbon dioxide) make PFCLs very suitable for different medical appli­ca­tions.

Need to purify PFCL

Due to the manufac­turing process, perfluo­ro­carbon liquids (PFCL) contain incom­pletely fluori­nated particles and fluoric olefins that are toxic. The toxicity level depends on the compounds’ structure, and is dose-dependent.
Pharmpur conducts a specific, individual purifi­cation process for each PFCL, and the success of each proce­dural stage is analy­ti­cally controlled.

The H-value Quality Criterion

H-Value

Impurities in PFCL that have been incom­pletely fluori­nated can be quantified as the source of toxic side effects via the H-value. The elimi­nation of residual protons in the form of HF is enacted via strong chemical bases, and the amount of separated fluoride is deter­mined. Finally, it is back-calcu­lated to the reaction’s origin – the proton concen­tration. The threshold value for safe appli­cation of PFCL is 10 ppm.

Silicone Oils

Silicones and silicone oils are widely used in medicine. For direct implan­tation, e.g. when used for ocular endotam­po­nades, an especially high degree of purity is required. Impurities origi­nating during production, such as residual OH-groups (incom­plete endcapping), ionic compounds (catalysts) and oligo­sil­o­xanes are only tolerable in the trace range. This is ensured by a special method developed by Pharmpur.

Oligo­sil­oxane Content

Oligo­sil­o­xanes are low-molecular components of silicone oil that are generated during the production process. Because of their toxic properties and high suscep­ti­bility to diffusing into surrounding tissue, these components must be removed before being adminis­tered as an ocular endotam­ponade. This is ensured by a special method developed by Pharmpur.

Viscous Media

Pharmpur produces various gel-like substances with very different rheolo­gical properties that are charac­te­rised by very low endotoxin content. The production of these products is conti­nuously controlled via rheolo­gical analyses. For classi­fying the products used in ophthal­mology, an individual concept was developed based on rheolo­gi­cally-measured values.

  • Hydrogels
  • Hyaluronic acid
  • Deriva­tives of hyaluronic acid
  • Cross-linked hyaluronic acid
  • HPMC
  • Modified HPMC
  • Newtonian and non-Newtonian fluids

Water-based Prepa­ration

Pharmpur specia­lises in producing and processing water-based prepa­ra­tions applied in a sterile environment. As a rule, these are mixtures of active substances and adjuvants in buffering systems. All processes until terminal steri­li­sation takes place in the clean room.

  • Approach to “Dedicated Equipment”
  • Individual stirring geometry
  • Estab­lished buffering systems
  • Simul­ta­neous or gradual steri­liz­ation of product and shell

Dosage Forms

Pharmpur produces medicinal and medical products that are filled in syringes, capsules or vials. The shell sterility of the products is safeguarded through sterile bags and/or blister packs.

Fields of Appli­cation

The products produced at Pharmpur are predo­mi­nantly used in ophthal­mology, ortho­pedics, esthetics and urology.

Perfluorcarbon­flüssigkeiten

Perfluorcarbonflüssigkeiten (PFCL) sind organische Verbindungen, bei denen alle H- durch F-Atome ersetzt sind. Durch die elektronische Struktur und die Anordnung der F-Atome wird eine fast vollständige Abschirmung des Moleküls erreicht. Die Verbindungen sind chemisch inert. PFCL eignen sich aufgrund ihrer kleinen Oberflächenspannung und geringen Leitfähigkeit sowie ihrer hohen Dichte, ihrem großen Lösevermögen für Gase (Sauerstoff und Kohlendioxid) für verschiedene medizinische Anwendungen.

Notwendigkeit der Hochreinigung von PFCL

Perfluorcarbonflüssigkeiten (PFCL) enthalten herstellungsbedingt unvollständig fluorierte Bestandteile und Fluorolefine, welche toxisch sind. Der Grad der Toxizität hängt von der Struktur der Verbindungen ab und ist dosisabhängig.

Für jedes PFCL wird bei Pharmpur eine individuelle Hochreinigungsprozedur festgelegt und der Erfolg aller Prozessstufen analytisch kontrolliert.

Qualitäts­kriterium H-Wert

H-Wert

Nicht vollständig fluorierte Verunreinigungen in PFCL können als Quelle toxischer Nebenreaktionen quantitativ durch den H-Wert erfasst werden. Mit starken Basen wird die Eliminierung der Restprotonen in Form von HF erzwungen und das abgespaltete Fluorid bestimmt. Abschließend wird auf den Ursprung der Reaktion – den Gehalt an Protonen – zurückgerechnet. Der Grenzwert für einen sicheren Einsatz von PFCL liegt bei 10 ppm.

Silikonöle

Silikone und Silikonöle werden in der Medizin vielfach verwendet. Bei direkter Implantation, wie z.B. bei der Nutzung als oculare Endotamponade, ist ein besonderer Reinheitsgrad erforderlich. Herstellungsbedingte Verunreinigungen wie Rest-OH-Gruppen (unvollständiges Endcapping), ionische Verbindungen (Katalysatoren) und Oligosiloxane sind nur im Spurenbereich tolerabel. Dies wird durch ein spezielles, bei Pharmpur entwickeltes Verfahren sichergestellt.

Oligosiloxan­gehalt

Oligosiloxane sind niedermolekulare Bestandteile des Silikonöls, welche bei der Herstellung entstehen. Wegen ihrer toxischen Eigenschaften und hohen Diffusionsneigung in angrenzende Gewebe müssen diese Komponenten vor der Anwendung als oculare Endotamponade entfernt werden. Dies wird durch ein spezielles, bei Pharmpur entwickelts Verfahren sichergestellt.

Viskose Medien

Pharmpur stellt verschiedene gelartige Substanzen mit sehr unterschiedlichen rheologischen Eigenschaften her, die sich durch sehr geringe Endotoxingehalte auszeichnen. Die Herstellung der Produkte wird durch rheologische Analysen kontrolliert. Zur Klassifizierung der in der Ophthalmologie eingesetzten Produkte wurde ein eigenes, auf rheologischen Messwerten beruhendes Konzept entwickelt.

  • Hydrogele
  • Hyaluronsäure
  • Hyaluronsäure Derivate
  • quervernetzte Hyaluronsäure
  • HPMC
  • modifizierte HPMC
  • newtonsche und nicht-newtonsche Flüssigkeiten

Wasserbasierte Zubereitungen

Pharmpur hat sich auf die Herstellung und Verarbeitung wasserbasierter Zubereitungen spezialisiert, die im sterilen Umfeld eingesetzt werden. In der Regel sind dies Mischungen aus Wirk- und Hilfsstoffen in Puffersystemen. Die Verarbeitung bis zur terminalen Sterilisation erfolgt im Reinraum.

  • Ansatz im »Dedicated Equipment«
  • individuelle Rührgeometrie
  • etablierte Puffersysteme
  • simultane oder schrittweise Sterilisation von Produkt und Außenhaut

Darreichungs­formen

Pharmpur stellt Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte her, welche in Spritzen, Carpulen oder Vials abgefüllt sind. Die Außenhautsterilität der Produkte wird durch Sterilbeutel und/oder Blister gewährleistet.

Anwendungs­gebiete

Die bei Pharmpur hergestellten Produkte werden überwiegend in der Ophthalmologie, der Orthopädie, der Ästhetik und der Urologie eingesetzt.